Skip to main content

College of Law

Florida State University


Class of 1983

Congratulations to the following alumni on their accomplishments! You can submit a class note online.
View notes from other class years

Thomas P. Scarritt, Jr.Thomas P. Scarritt, Jr. was named honorary chairman for the NAACP's Freedom Fund Dinner on February 8, 2018. He was also the recipient of the Freedom Fighter Award for his leadership role in relocating the Confederate statue from the Hillsborough County Courthouse. Scarritt serves as the 2018 president of the Tampa Ybor City Rotary Club. He is the founder and president at Scarritt Law Group, P.A. in Tampa. Posted 2.26.18

Robert L. Rothman was appointed to a three-year term in 2016 as the Eleventh Circuit member on the American Bar Association Standing Committee on the Federal Judiciary. He is responsible for investigating the professional competence, integrity and judicial temperament of prospective nominees to the federal bench at the request of the White House. Rothman is a partner in the Litigation Practice at Arnall Golden Gregory LLP. Posted 12.8.17

Thomas P. Scarritt, Jr.Thomas P. Scarritt, Jr. taught stage acting to fourth graders at the invitation of his daughter, teacher Mallory Scarritt Edghill, at Eisenhower Elementary School in Clearwater, as part of the Great American Teach-In. Scarritt is the founder and president at Scarritt Law Group, P.A. in Tampa. Posted 12.4.17

Tom Scarritt (L) with Morris Dees (C)Thomas P. Scarritt, Jr. served as Master of Ceremonies for the Fortieth Anniversary Southern Legal Counsel Banquet held on October 21 in Gainesville. Morris Dees, the founder of Southern Poverty Legal Center, was the keynote speaker and shared stories of the civil rights battles he has fought since 1971. Scarritt is the founder and president at Scarritt Law Group, P.A. in Tampa. Posted 11.6.17

Cari L. RothCari L. Roth, a shareholder at Dean Mead in Tallahassee, has been named the Best Lawyers® 2018 Land Use and Zoning Lawyer of the Year in Tallahassee. She also was recognized in Florida Trend's 2017 Legal Elite. She has 34 years of public and private sector legal and legislative experience, and is a recognized leader in government relations and environmental and land use law. Posted 10.19.17

Brian R. Toung

Brian R. Toung has been elected chairman of the Board of the Port Orange South Daytona Chamber of Commerce. This is a voluntary unpaid position in addition to his full-time law practice doing personal injury, criminal defense, business and aviation litigation at Brian R. Toung, P.A. in Daytona Beach. He also teaches Aviation Legislation at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University as an adjunct associate professor. 
Posted 10.9.17

Thomas P. Scarritt, Jr.

Thomas P. Scarritt, Jr., founder and president of Scarritt Law Group in Tampa, received the Chair’s Award from the Hillsborough County Democratic Party for Outstanding Public Service. He was featured in a La Gaceta article and recognized as a Paul Harris Fellow by the Rotary International Foundation. Scarritt also has been awarded America's Top 100 Attorneys Lifetime Achievement Award and has successfully achieved recertification as a civil trial advocate. Additionally, Scarritt participated in the Great American Teach-In at San Jose Elementary School in Dunedin on November 16, 2016. Scarritt taught a class with his daughter, first grade teacher Mallory Scarritt. Posted 9.27.17