Faculty Enrichment Speakers 2003-2004

SUMMER 2004

Thursday, May 13—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
B.J. Priester, FSU College of Law. Topic: "Return of the Great Writ: Judicial Review of the Detention of Alleged Terrorists as Enemy Combatants."

Thursday, May 20—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Jim Rossi, FSU College of Law. Topic: "Deregulation and the Incomplete Regulatory Contract."

Thursday, May 27—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Rob Atkinson, FSU College of Law. Topic: "Connecting Business Ethics and Legal Ethics for the Common Good: Come, Let Us Reason Together."

Wednesday, June 2—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Marie Reilly, University of South Carolina. Topic: "The Bankruptcy Trustee's Power to Avoid Regulated Transfers After BFP v. Resolution Trust Corp."

Thursday, June 10—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Greg Mitchell, FSU College of Law. Topic: "Unconfounding Intuitions about Corrective and Distributive Justice"

Thursday, June 17—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Charlene Luke, FSU College of Law. Topic: "The Investor Control Doctrine: A Model for Limiting Tax-Advantaged Investment Transactions"

Thursday, June 24—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Mark Seidenfeld, FSU College of Law. Topic: "Why Agencies Act: Rational, Psychological and Institutional Influences on Agency Decisions to Regulate"

SPRING 2004

Thursday, January 8—Tobias Simon Lecture, 4:00 p.m., Room R-103
Bob Keohane, Duke University Department of Political Science. Topic: "Preventive War: A Cosmopolitan Institutional Proposal"

Tuesday, January 13—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Mitu Gulati, Georgetown University Law Center (short-course visiting professor at FSU). Topic: "Who Would Win a Tournament of Judges?"

Friday, January 16—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Jeffrey Rosen, George Washington University Law Center. Topic: "Balancing Liberty and Security in an Anxious Age." Topic: Epilogue.

Thursday, January 22—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Kimberly Krawiec, University of North Carolina School of Law (short-course visiting professor at FSU). Topic: "The Penalty Default Canon." Topic: Abstract

Thursday, January 29—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Jennifer Mnookin, University of Virginia School of Law. Topic: "Atomism, Holism and the Law of Evidence."

Tuesday, February 3—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Alyson Flournoy, University of Florida. Topic: "Discovering Values in Regulation."

Thursday, February 5—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Scott Baker, University of North Carolina School of Law. Topic: "The Partnership Penalty."

Friday, February 13—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Ronald Krotoszynski, Washington & Lee. Topic: "The Nondelegation Doctrine Revisited: Universal Service and the Power to Tax."

Monday, February 16—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Dorothy Roberts, Northwestern Law School (Annual Mason Ladd Lecturer). Topic: "Measuring the Social and Moral Cost of Mass Incarceration in African American Communities."

Tuesday, February 24—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Lee Breckenridge, Northeastern University Law School (Journal of Land Use and Environmental Law Lecturer). Topic: "Water Rights and Biological Integrity."

Thursday, March 4—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Bill Page, University of Florida. Topic: "Economic Authority and the Limits of Expertise in Antitrust Cases." Topic: Abstract. Topic: Summary

Thursday, March 18—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Eric Posner, University of Chicago Law School. Topic: "A Theory of International Adjudication."

Monday, March 22—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Eric Talley, University of Southern California Law Center. Topic: "Experimental Study of Law."

Mar. 26-27—Symposium: The Behavioral Analysis of Legal Institutions (Florida State University Law Review, coordinated by Professor Gregory Mitchell) Go To Web Site.

Monday, March 29—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Edward Beiser, Brown University. Topic: "Informed Consent."

Thursday, April 1—Faculty Workshop, 4:00 p.m. Room R-103
Randy Barnett, Boston University Law School. Topic: "Lawrence v. Texas and Justice Kennedy's Libertarian Revolution"; and Chapter 10 of Restoring the Constitution.

Thursday, April 8—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 Noon. Room R-103
Lynn Baker, University of Texas School of Law. Topic: "Federalism and the Spending Power."

Wednesday, April 14—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 Noon. Room R-103
Keith Sharfman, Rutgers-Newark Law School (visiting professor at FSU). Topic: "Suing Derivatively on Behalf of a Bankruptcy Estate."

FALL 2003

Tuesday, August 26—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
J.B. Ruhl, FSU College of Law. Topic: "Methodology and the Endangered Species Act."

Friday, September 5—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Stephanie Gore, FSU College of Law. Topic: "Judicial(/Judicious) Use of Metaphors for New Technologies."

Monday, September 8—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
David Frisch, University of Richmond. Topic: "Abstract Formalism v. Contextual Interpretation: Some Thoughts on Article 2 and UCC Methodology."

Wednesday, September 10—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
John Scholz, Epps Scholar, FSU Department of Political Science. Topic: "Water Conflicts and Local Policy Networks."

Thursday, September 18—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Kristen A. Adams, Stetson. Topic: "Promise Enforcement: Can the Lessons of Hundertwasser and Rousseau Save Affordable Housing in the United States?."

Tuesday, September 23—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Lisa Heinzerling, Georgetown University Law Center. Topic: "Priceless: Life, Health, Nature, and Other Stuff You Can't Buy." Chapter 4 Priceless: Of Knowing the Price of Everything and the Value of Nothing (with Frank Ackerman, forthcoming New Press, 2004); additional background from table of contents, chapter 1, and chapter 9.

Thursday, October 2—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Richard Hynes, William & Mary. Topic: "Bankruptcy's Role in Debt Relief."

Tuesday, October 7—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Timothy Zinnecker, University of South Texas (visiting at FSU). Topic: "Extending Enforcement Rights to Assignees of Lost, Destroyed, or Stolen Negotiable Instruments Under UCC Article 3: A Proposal For Reform."

Thursday-Friday, October 16-17—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Daniel Tarlock, Chicago-Kent College of Law (Journal of Land Use and Environmental Law Lecturer). Topic: "Hyper-rationality in the Age of Chaos: The Case of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers."

Friday, October 24—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
David Caron, University of California, Berkeley. Topic: "Lessons from the United Nations Compensation Commission for Claims Arising Out of the 1990 Gulf War."

Thursday, October 30—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
B.J. Priester, FSU College of Law. Topic: "The Separation of Powers and the Constitutional Law of Sentencing."

Tuesday, November 4—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Daniel Cole, Indiana-Indianapolis. Topic: "Regulatory Takings as Conflicts Between Private and Public Property Regimes."

Thursday, November 6—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Ahmed Taha, Wake Forest. Topic: "Is Fox in the Henhouse? Empirical Evidence on Media Conglomerates and Bias in Movie Reviews."

Thursday, November 13—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Fernando Teson, FSU College of Law. Topic: "Global Justice and Free Trade."

Thursday, November 20—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Nancy King, Vanderbilt. Topic: "Felony Jury Sentencing in Practice: A Three-State Study."

Monday, November 24—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Michael Froomkin, University of Miami. Topic: "The Uneasy Case for National ID Cards as a Means to Enhance Privacy."

Thursday, December 4—Faculty Workshop, 12:00 noon Room R-103
Adrienne Davis, University of North Carolina. Topic: "Re-thinking Slavery." Read Abstract, Read Paper.