Roundtable Participants

Frederick Abbott, Edward Ball Eminent Scholar Professor of Law, Florida State University College of Law, Tallahassee (Organizer)

Tahir Amin, Co-Founder, Initiative for Medicines, Access & Knowledge, New Delhi

Wilbert Bannenberg, Public Health Consultant, formerly WHO Pharmaceutical Technical Adviser to the South African Department of Health, The Netherlands

Jorge A.Z. Bermudez, Unit Chief, Essential Medicines, Vaccines and Health Technologies, Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), Washington, D.C.

Carlos Correa, Professor and Director, Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies on Industrial Property and Economics Law, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina

Timothy Cross, Director, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Program, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, Florida State University, Tallahassee

Graham Dukes, Professor of Drug Policy Studies, University of Oslo, Norway

Paulo Etcheverry, representing ALIFAR (also General Manager, Laboratorios Rowe, Dominican Republic, and President, INFADOMI, Dominican Republic), Santa Domingo

Carsten Fink, Senior Economist, Trade Team, World Bank Institute, Geneva

Joseph Fortunak, Associate Professor, Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Howard University, formerly Director and Head, Global Process R&D, Abbott Laboratories, Washington, D.C.

John Fraser, President, Association of University Technology Managers; Director, Office of IP Development and Commercialization, Florida State University, Tallahassee

Marta Gabrieloni, Argentina Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Secretary of Commerce, Buenos Aires

Elisabet Helsing, Norwegian Board of Health, former Head of WHO Nutrition Program, Oslo

Ellen 't Hoen, Director for Policy Advocacy, Medecins Sans Frontieres (MSF), Campaign for Access to Essential Medicines, Paris

Maria Fernanda Hurtado, Ministry of Trade, Colombia

Marķa Fabiana Jorge, President, MFJ International, LLC, Washington, D.C.

Lorelei Ritchie de Larena, Assistant Professor, Florida State University College of Law, formerly Intellectual Property Manager, UCLA

David Lee, Deputy Director for Technical Strategy and Quality for the MSH Center for Pharmaceutical Management, Arlington, Virginia

James P. Love, Director, Consumer Project on Technology, Washington, D.C.

Malebona Precious Matsoso, Director, Department of Technical Cooperation for Essential Drugs and Traditional Medicine (HTP/TCM), World Health Organization, Geneva

Thomas Mays, Counsel for Intellectual Property, U.S. Federal Trade Commission, Washington, D.C.

Priti Radhakrishnan, Co-Founder, Initiative for Medicines, Access & Knowledge, New Delhi

Jerome Reichman, Bunyan S. Womble Professor of Law, Duke Law School, Durham

Pedro Roffe, Senior Fellow ICTSD, Project on Intellectual Property and Sustainable Development, Geneva

Mark Rohrbaugh, Director, Office of Technology Transfer, National Institutes of Health (NIH), Rockville, Maryland

Giorgio Roscigno, Chief Executive Officer, FIND (Foundation for Innovative New Diagnostics), Geneva

Dilip Shah, Secretary-General, Indian Pharmaceutical Alliance (IPA), Mumbai

Michael Steffen, Co-Executive Director, Universities Allied for Essential Medicines, New Haven

Robynn Sturm, Co-Executive Director, Universities Allied for Essential Medicines, New Haven

Antony Taubman, Acting Director and Head, Global IP Issues Division, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), Geneva

Yolanda Tayler, Lead Specialist Procurement/Health, The World Bank, Washington, D.C.

Gina Vea, Program Officer, Intellectual Property and Technology, ICTSD, Geneva

Howard Zucker, Assistant Director-General, Health Technology and Pharmaceuticals (HTP), World Health Organization, Geneva

Overview | The Panel | Agenda | Background Documents