Skip to main content

College of Law

Florida State University


2015 YCC Conference

Younger Comparativists Committee of the American Society of Comparative Law 4th Annual Conference

The Younger Comparativists Committee (YCC) hosts an annual global conference for younger scholars in all areas of comparative law, both public and private, at a different law school each year. The inaugural global conference was held in 2012 at George Washington University Law School in Washington, DC. In 2013, 2014 and 2015, the venues for the YCC global conference are, respectively, Indiana University McKinney School of Law in Indianapolis, Indiana; Lewis & Clark Law School in Portland, Oregon; and Florida State University College of Law in Tallahassee, Florida.

Younger scholars, defined as faculty and students with fewer than ten years’ teaching experience on a law faculty, are invited to submit an abstract on any subject of public or private comparative law. Abstracts are reviewed by the Program Committee, which then assembles panels from individual submissions. Younger scholars may also propose fully-formed panels.

The YCC awards three prizes at the annual global conference:

  1. The Colin Picker Prize, named after the founding Chair of the YCC and given to the most meritorious paper written by a graduate student
  2. The Phanor James Eder Prize, named after the founding President of the American Society of Comparative Law and given to the most meritorious paper written by an undergraduate student
  3. The Richard M. Buxbaum Prize for Teaching in Comparative Law, named after the 2014 recipient of the ASCL Lifetime Achievement Award and given in recognition of teaching excellence in any subject of comparative public or private law by an untenured scholar in a tenure-track position at an ASCL Member Institution.