Skip to main content

College of Law

Florida State University


2008 Press Releases

Florida State Law Inducts 23 Graduates to Order of the Coif

Jul 01, 2008

TALLAHASSEE—Twenty-three 2007 Florida State University College of Law graduates have been inducted into the Florida State Chapter of The Order of the Coif, the only national legal honor society in the United States. The graduates were nominated for membership by the law school.

Graduating seniors who have completed at least 75 percent of their studies in graded courses and who rank among the top 10 percent of all graduating seniors in the school are eligible for nomination. Florida State Law holds one of the nation’s 77 chapters of the Coif. The society, which originated in England during the medieval period, encourages and recognizes excellence in legal education.

Inductees from Florida:

Coral Springs: Ilan A. Nieuchowicz; Fort Lauderdale: Jonathan B. Lewis; Jacksonville: Ian R. McKillop, Amber L. Rumancik, Andrew J. Steif; Orlando: Benjamin A. Webster; Tallahassee: Jason M. Breth, Christopher Carreira, Daniel Tymon Jackson, Norman Alexander Burkett, Darby K. Scott, Brian D. Sites; Tampa: Justin L. Dees, Celeste N. Perrino; West Palm Beach: Rachael P. Kaiman; Winter Park: Mary J. Walter

Inductees from other states:

Atlanta, Ga.: Julie A. Lemmer; Dallas, Texas: Adam A.L. Litwin; Fuquay Varina, N.C.: Kathleen A. Cavanagh; Marietta, Ga.: Judith R. Watkins; Lawrence, Kans.: Maureen A. Walterbach; New York City: Katy H. Donlan; North Wilkesboro, N.C.: Christopher R. Conley 

​July 2008