Skip to main content

College of Law

Florida State University


2015 Press Releases

Florida State University Moot Court Team Wins National Constitutional Law Competition

Feb 25, 2015


(L-R) Waldick and Martin

TALLAHASSEE— The Florida State University College of Law Moot Court Team has won first place in the J. Braxton Craven, Jr. Memorial Competition. The constitutional law moot court competition was held February 18-21 at the University of North Carolina School of Law in Chapel Hill. Florida State also won the annual competition in 2009.

Twenty-two law schools participated in the competition, including Boston College, Fordham University, University of Maryland, University of Virginia, University of Wisconsin, and William & Mary.
Winning team members are third-year law student Jonathan Martin, from Fort Lauderdale, and second-year law student Ian Waldick, from Ocala. Judge Stephanie Ray (’95), of the Florida First District Court of Appeal, and Tallahassee attorney Courtney Brewer, who is a shareholder at The Mills Firm, coached the team. 
“Congratulations to our wonderful student advocates and to their coaches,” said Dean Donald J. Weidner. “This victory is another testament to the excellence of our students and their advocacy skills.”
The judges for the final round were Judge Henry F. Floyd, of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, Judge Laura Taylor Swain, of the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York, and Judge Stephanie D. Thacker, of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

This moot court victory follows closely on the heels of Florida State’s Black Law Students Association (BLSA) winning first place in two major advocacy competitions. In January, BLSA won the regional Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition and the regional Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition.

February 2015