Skip to main content

College of Law

Florida State University



Bruce L. Benson

Bruce L. Benson

DeVoe L. Moore Professor and Distinguished Research Professor

Florida State University
Economics Department
274 Bellamy Building 
Phone: 850.644.7094
Fax: 850.644.4535


Ph. D., Texas A&M University, 1978
M.A., University of Montana, 1975
B.A., University of Montana, 1973

Related Links

DeVoe L. Moore Professor and Distinguished Research Professor Bruce Benson is chair of the Economics Department and a Courtesy Professor of Law. He regularly teaches a course on Economics and the Law. His recent activities include serving as a Fulbright Senior Specialists to the Czech Republic (2003-04), a visiting professor at the University de Paris Pantheon Assas (spring 2004), and a Julian Simon Fellow at the Property and Environment Research Center, Bozeman, Montana (summer 2004). Recent recognitions include the Freedoms Foundation's Leavey Award for Excellence in Private Enterprise Education (2004) for his innovative course on Economics of Native Americans, and the 2006 Adam Smith Award: "the highest honor bestowed by The Association of Private Enterprise Education. . . . The recipient of this award must be an individual who has acquired an international reputation as an eloquent scholar and advocate of free enterprise and the system of entrepreneurship which underlies it."

Professor Benson has published more than 120 academic articles, contributed more than 60 chapters to edited volumes, written four books (one, The Enterprise of Law, has been translated into Spanish and is being translated into Italian), and edited another. His research awards include best article prizes from the Southern Economic Journal (1989) for "The Evolution of Commercial Law" and from the Journal of Private Enterprise (1999) for "Market Alternatives for Crime Control," a Florida State University Distinguished Research Professor Award (1993), the Association of Private Enterprise Education's Distinguished Scholar Award (2001), and the 2000 Sir Antony Fisher International Memorial Award for his book, To Serve and Protect: Privatization and Community in Criminal Justice