Skip to main content

College of Law

Florida State University


International Law Faculty

Our international law faculty members have deep expertise in a variety of areas, including international intellectual property, international trade law, the global pharmaceutical industry, international human rights, laws of war, international intervention law, Chinese law, law of the sea and international environmental law. They have engaged in coastal management research in Central America for the United Nations, in making medicine available to AIDS victims in South Africa, in the struggle for human rights in South America and in developing a dispute resolution process among Caribbean nations.

Talbot "Sandy" DAlemberte

Talbot "Sandy" D'Alemberte

President Emeritus and Professor

Florida State University
College of Law
Collins Institute/Cawthon House
Phone: 850.644.0800
Fax: 850.644.1442


J.D., University of Florida, 1962
B.A., University of the South, 1955

Related Links

A former President of the American Bar Association (1991-92), Talbot ("Sandy") D'Alemberte served as Dean of Florida State University College of Law from 1984 to 1989 and was appointed president of Florida State University in 1993, serving in that capacity through January 2003.

A member of the American Law Institute, he also has served as President of the American Judicature Society (1982-84), practiced law for several years with Steel Hector & Davis in Miami, and was a member of the Florida House of Representatives from 1966-1972. D'Alemberte has won numerous national awards for his contributions to the profession, including the 2001 Wickersham Award given by the Friends of the Law Library of Congress, the 2001 Distinguished Eagle Scout Award, the 1998 ABA Section of Legal Education Robert J. Kutak Award, the 1998 ABA World Order Under Law Award, the 1996 American Judicature Society's Justice Award, the 1996 National Council of Jewish Women's Hannah G. Soloman Award, the 1986 National Sigma Delta Chi First Amendment Award, and an American Academy of Television Arts and Sciences "Emmy" in 1985 for his work in open government. He holds honorary degrees from Cleveland State University, Hofstra University, Nova Southeastern University, Stetson University, University of the South (Sewanee), University of Bridgeport, University of Denver, University of the West Indies, and Open University of Great Britain. He is also the author of The Florida Constitution (Greenwood Press 1991).

Select Recent Publications

FLORIDA CONSTITUTIONAL LAW (2d ed., Oxford University Press) (2016)